Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Biostar G31-M7 TE and Kingston Ram compatibility

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    98

    Biostar G31-M7 TE and Kingston Ram compatibility

    I am having a pretty old computer that has a Biostar G31-M7 TE motherboard along with 2GB 800mhz ddr2 RAM. There are total 4 memory slots on this motherboard and it supports a total of 4gb RAM. So, I was wondering if I can buy and use the Kingston RAM on this motherboard? I hope that there will be no booting issues after I insert it? If you have any idea about this setup then please let me know. Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,434

    Re: Biostar G31-M7 TE and Kingston Ram compatibility

    It will usually depend if the RAM that you are using in your motherboard will be compatible with Kingston or not. You will have to check their timings (CAS Latency) or speed. You might face some problems because there are many people who are facing problems while mixing different memory modules on older motherboard that you are using.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1,187

    Re: Biostar G31-M7 TE and Kingston Ram compatibility

    There is no guarantee that two different RAM brands will work together on an older board that you have. So, the best thing that you can do is to find a similar brand of memory that you are using in your board with the same specs and same speed or else you can also buy 2x2GB RAM modules in a single packing. It will be a risk to run Kingston 2GB DDR2 800mhz memory on your mobo.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    837

    Re: Biostar G31-M7 TE and Kingston Ram compatibility

    I was previously using that motherboard and also 2 sticks of Kingston 512MB DDR2 533MHz RAM which was not working properly. I found out that unless the CPU has FSB speed of either 533mhz or 1066mhz, the RAM was useless. So, I purchased a 3.0ghz Pentium 4 CPU with 800mhz FSB and replaced the RAM with a Kingston 2GB DDR2 800MHz stick and then it started working flawlessly.

Similar Threads

  1. Cannot set 1066MHZ frequency for Kingston HyperX ddr2 on Biostar Tpower 145
    By Diamond! in forum Motherboard Processor & RAM
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 14-10-2011, 10:20 PM
  2. Want to enable USB 2.0 with BIOSTAR G31-M7 TE
    By Satchel in forum Motherboard Processor & RAM
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23-01-2011, 05:36 AM
  3. Buy Biostar Tpower i55
    By jaimins in forum Motherboard Processor & RAM
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16-11-2009, 05:10 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28-04-2009, 11:08 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-04-2009, 06:40 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 1,675,711,380.23073 seconds with 17 queries