Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Gigabyte GA-MA78G-DS3H Bios upgrading problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    14

    Gigabyte GA-MA78G-DS3H Bios upgrading problem

    I am using Gigabyte GA-MA78G-DS3H motherboard and having some issues updating the BIOS using the QFlash software from a usb drive. Previously I was using Athlon 64 X2 5000+ and now I have replaced it with Amd Phenom II X4 955 but once it boots then it says processor Unknown 4 CPUs. I am trying to update from the BIOS F8 version to F9 version and have tried with both the CPUs but nothing seems to be working. All I am getting is "BIOS ID check error". Does anyone know how do I upgrade my bios to the latest version? Thank you

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1,205

    Re: Gigabyte GA-MA78G-DS3H Bios upgrading problem

    You will have to update the BIOS of your Gigabyte motherboard if you want to use the full functionality of the Phenom II X4 955 CPU. As for the error message you are getting it means that the BIOS version is not correct for you motherboard. You will have to check and make sure which revision of motherboard you are using since there are 2 versions available. You can find that out by looking at the bottom left hand side of the motherboard, for this you will have to open the PC case and you will find it printer there.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    924

    Re: Gigabyte GA-MA78G-DS3H Bios upgrading problem

    Yes, there seems to be Rev 1.0 and Rev 2.x version of this Gigabyte GA-MA78G-DS3H motherboard. So, if you are having the Rev 1.0 board then you will need the F9 Bios to run the Amd Phenom II X4 955 CPU properly. This type of motherboard uses only the 95W version of this processor. As for the Rev 2.x, it will need the BIOS version FC or FDF. This bios version normally depends on the version of the CPU, the FC version requires 125W where else the FDF version will require 125W and 95W both.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    593

    Re: Gigabyte GA-MA78G-DS3H Bios upgrading problem

    You might be having the Gigabyte GA-MA78G-DS3H Rev 2.0 motherboard since these are the latest ones available so far. So you can either download the latest FDF version or FC version of the BIOS from this link - http://www.gigabyte.com/products/pro...?pid=2931#bios. The BIOS is also provided region wise, so if you reside in the US side then download the America version of the bios. Hope this helps you out.

Similar Threads

  1. 'GUI MFC Application Stopped Working' error on Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H mobo
    By PARRISH in forum Official GIGABYTE Motherboard Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-04-2013, 11:16 AM
  2. Does 125w TDP CPUs compatible with Gigabyte GA-MA78G-DS3H rev 1.0
    By servan$ in forum Motherboard Processor & RAM
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-02-2012, 04:42 PM
  3. Upgrading Phenom X4 970 on GA-MA78G-DS3H
    By Miquel in forum Motherboard Processor & RAM
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-12-2010, 05:58 AM
  4. GA-MA78G-DS3H Microphone problem on Realtek HD Audio
    By Samara in forum Hardware Peripherals
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-05-2010, 09:49 AM
  5. Gigabyte GA-MA78G-DS3H Motherboard Driver Problem
    By Henryosa in forum Motherboard Processor & RAM
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-03-2010, 05:29 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 1,670,164,232.50598 seconds with 17 queries