Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Gigabyte GTX 970 with AMD FX-6100 will bottleneck or not

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    13

    Gigabyte GTX 970 with AMD FX-6100 will bottleneck or not

    I have a very old AMD Radeon HD 5000 series graphics card and now I am looking to upgrade it to Gigabyte GTX 970 1gb video card. But I was thinking whether it will be fine to run this card with the AMD FX-6100 CPU and there wont be any bottleneck issue. I can upgrade my CPU to a FX-8350 as it is supported by the Asus motherboard that I am using but before wasting any more money I was hoping that with the old CPU the card will work just fine? Any ideas

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    816

    Re: Gigabyte GTX 970 with AMD FX-6100 will bottleneck or not

    If you have a motherboard that can support either an AMD FX-8320 or AMD FX-8350 then I would suggest you to drop the AMD FX-6100 CPU which will be a bottleneck for yourself. So, it would be a wise decision to go for the upgraded CPU for sure. The old processor that you are using looks to be lying at the edge of what it would seem to be, however it will be enough to play the latest games at not so high settings.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1,187

    Re: Gigabyte GTX 970 with AMD FX-6100 will bottleneck or not

    Even I would recommend you to get a new CPU like the AMD FX-8350 as well. After that take out the old CPU out and put in the new one and apply some thermal paste on your processor and any other things that is needed to the CPU. If you dont know how to build up your computer then you can try to ask any of your friends to give you hands in taking out the CPU and putting in the new one.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    1,070

    Re: Gigabyte GTX 970 with AMD FX-6100 will bottleneck or not

    How much Power Supply Wattage you are using or having in your old build. Since you are going to upgrade to a new video card and also a good AMD CPU then it will be best to get yourself a new Power Supply and a cooler which is going to remain better than the stock one that comes on the CPU. A minimum of 650watts power supply would be needed for your build, so go with the Antec EarthWatts EA650 which would be more than enough.

Similar Threads

  1. Geforce GTX 680 Bottleneck
    By NavinS in forum Monitor & Video Cards
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-03-2013, 11:01 AM
  2. New build using Gigabyte GA-880GMA-USB3 and AMD FX 6100 does not show 16Gb RAM
    By Mathrubootham in forum Motherboard Processor & RAM
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-12-2011, 11:29 PM
  3. CPU bottleneck for games, Yes or not?
    By Sam Robert in forum Motherboard Processor & RAM
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-05-2011, 08:20 PM
  4. GTX 560 Ti Q6600 2.4 GHz bottleneck?
    By TheDARIO in forum Monitor & Video Cards
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-04-2011, 07:23 PM
  5. Where is the bottleneck in my system
    By FenceeII in forum Overclocking & Computer Modification
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-01-2009, 10:05 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 1,670,235,872.32895 seconds with 17 queries