Thread: Accessing data from Data Warehouse

Accessing data from Data Warehouse

I am a first year Bsc Student. Although there are five subjects in my upcoming semester, but there is one subject that attracts me the most , it is DBMS or you can call it as database management system. I am looking forward to study that subject and make it thorough from now on because I look myself as a Data Base Administrator. Yes there is a long path to walk ahead , for that I know I should be very strong with my basics, although the semester has not started yet I am thinking to do a bit of study myself , so I had some doubts regarding the data warehouse, can you please explain in brief how it helps in managing and accessing the data stored in it. I would be so glad if you share your ideas with me.

Re: Accessing data from Data Warehouse

As the name suggests a data warehouse is also a warehouse , but here it does not store grains or eatables , but it is a repository of data been archived in the form of relational data. By relational data I mean in the tabular form where it can be retrieved easily by querying it. In earlier days the data was not stored in organized way, but in the data ware house , it is well organized , planned and tooled easily to meet the functional requirement of any organization and support in decision making

There were various problems connected with this conventional method, mostly the high costs included in data storage. In the presence of legacy systems architecture, a huge amount of redundancy was there which was the biggest hinge for the multiple decision support enterprises. So a process was required that could the process of gather, cleanse off the redundancy and integrate the whole data from various resources, this gave emergence to Data warehousing