Thread: Want some help to configure LAN settings for WSUS

Want some help to configure LAN settings for WSUS

Want some help to configure WSUS lan. My recent settings are changed and the guy who fix this all in on leave. I need some easy steps by which can I reconfigure this server over network. I had did some basic in windows network. But as a intern I cannot test much here. I tried to watch certain videos and got a basic idea of simple configuration. But still I need some written steps from expert who can guide me to configure this back on the network. The service has stopped working and from last couple days. I am sure that once this is configured back again, it might take more bandwidth to update all the systems. If I waste more time then this will keep on increasing. Any suggestion on the same will be appreciated.

Re: Want some help to configure LAN settings for WSUS

When you said network configuration that means WSUS is installed in your system. You have to do settings for network configuration. There is a network wizard which can help you to set the connection automatically. You can run that from WSUS console. Even if you are novice here then you do not need to worry about improper settings. One thing you need to ensure before doing changes in WSUS lan configuration, is that your Firewall must allow it proper access. Second your computer must be connected to the system which is responsible for Microsoft Update. Last thing if there is any kind of proxy thing then keep a note of all settings. Once WSUS is installed in your system is configure itself automatically for updates. It setup the location for Windows update and the same is downloaded automatically. The issue only arises when there is any proxy server in the network. Because at that time you have to provide all proxy information on WSUS console. Also I am sure that firewall is not configured to allow access to WSUS. For this you will need to open port 80 and port 443.