Thread: Home server on the same network as an SBS 2008 domain and need to redirect ports

Home server on the same network as an SBS 2008 domain and need to redirect ports

I am a newbie and not knowing more in this case but as a network concern person, I need to say something regarding my issue . so to start with , I have a network with SBS 2008 as a domain and made an installation of a Home server on the same network with correspondence to the SBS 2008. But there is no network between the Outlook Web App and mobile phones after enabling the external access to the homeserver as it takes the entire SSL traffic . as I am intended to use them for remote access, I need to operate them differently and want them to use on the home server itself. Editing properties of the home server will solve my issue so that I will have them on a different port than 443 for SSL traffic. And as I am intended to allow traffic I made some addition of the ports on the WHS firewall. In addition made some modification of the IIS to listen on the new ports. But after trying so hard there were no results. Later I came to know that I didn’t made an restart of the servers and that was causing the issue , so there was still no result . or will I require an registry entry to function it properly. I am thinking of setting up a reverse proxy server and not knowing regarding the same, will it render my service. I make use of remoter access and for that there is an requirement of SBS environment and so in my case , I make use of the SBS environment . on my local network , I do have some of my users but they are not part of SBS domain. So I suppose that remote access capability will render my issue and so there is a need of the remote access capability . I want to access them the server data along with the internet connection . and I suppose that can be done all the way through remote access. Can you guys suggest me in my case.