Thread: FreeNAS setup shows "CPU does not support long mode"

FreeNAS setup shows "CPU does not support long mode"

I was thinking to make use of my old desktops and for that, I decided to make use of the NAS box with the FreeNAS which is an offspin of FreeBSD. I started with the setup and the disc get loaded. When this is to show me the options screen then it shows me the message saying "CPU does not support long mode”. There is no install option or anything else. I am new to this and have less knowledge about this. Can you tell me that what is the problem with this and how can I get this problem solved?

Re: FreeNAS setup shows "CPU does not support long mode"

here are the steps to get tha installed and I hope that this will be helpful to you.

• To be able to start the installation, you must first in the BIOS of the computer's CD / DVD player first in the boot sequence.
    • If you now boot the computer will automatically load FreeNAS from the CD and get the next screen.
    • In this screen, select option FreeNAS to load, this happens automatically after 10 seconds, now you will get next screen.
    • Here you opt to FreeNAS on a hard drive or flash drive to install. You enter here the number "9" and press enter.
    • From the next screen we choose the first option Install 'embedded'OS on HDD / Flash / USB.
    • In this screen, click OK and get the next screen.
    • This screen allows the CD / DVD drive containing the installation CD ( In case of multiple CD / DVD drives).
    • In this screen, select the desired hard disk where you want to install FreeNAS, now click OK and get the next screen.
    • FreeNAS is now installed.

What I love about this type of operating system is how less it takes and how fast and tunable it is. It's simple and intuitive, and able to work with different file sharing protocols, making it much more versatile than other systems.