Thread: Suggestion for Configuring a Tightly Secured Router with Wireless Routers

Suggestion for Configuring a Tightly Secured Router with Wireless Routers

I am having three LinkSys Wireless. I am posting this to get the suggestion from you people about Configuring a Tightly Secured Router with Wireless Routers. I am new with this so it will be good for me to get some suggestion from other people before doing this actually.

Re: Suggestion for Configuring a Tightly Secured Router with Wireless Routers

I would like to tell you that all the changes must be made at the same time as system is connected with the one of the Ethernet ports lying on the router and not through the Wi-Fi. One of the main things that you have to consider that you must click on the "Save Settings" on each web page earlier than going to some other web page if you forget this then you will lose all the changes for that page. One more thing to tell is that the LinkSys router Web Admin pages might utilize the Web-page.

You must en sure that you are well known with the MAC/Physical Address for the Wireless adapter. I assume that you are having the system which is Windows based and if that is the case then you must make use of the "Command Prompt" to issue command "ipconfig /all" to verify the MAC address of the Wireless adapter that you are having as the same time as WiFi connected with the router.

I am having some general suggestion for you and I hope that this will help you.
    • Go to the Administration/Mgmt and from there just change default password as of the Admin to your preferred one.
    • Within the Local Mgmt Access, you will have to disable the HTTP access as well as enable the HTTPS access. Once you are done with that then save the changes and reconnect to the router with the URL https://192.168.1.1 and make sure that you use the httpS vs. http (no S) to make the protected connection on the admin web pages for router.