Thread: Fake Hackers call for pc security

Fake Hackers call for pc security

Hey one and all,I am a student of programming. Few days back a friend fell victim to the following scam: A hacker called him up and told " hello, good morning,I'm from Microsoft, your pc has a virus, go to your computer, do X, Y and Z so I can run this program that will clean your computer". My friend believed that guy and followed all these instructions, turned off avira as instructed, and paid 100 dollars by credit card for the "anti-virus clean up" that was " runned into his PC. I am 100% serious. People do fall for these scam , Its really spreading alot. The scammer/hacker was persistent and phoned back to back to check that the victim was doing it everything properly. He was a good talker naturally, as he knew how to speak and what to speakc Just to make my friend believe him. He's cancelled the credit card. He never expects to see the 100 dollars back. So the main question I want to ask is that what should I tell him to do to clean up his computer with a Windows OS?

re: Fake Hackers call for pc security

Its really sad to hear what happened with your friend, actually I work at a well known internet security company. I assume that your friend’s whole PC is hacked by that guy or if not, here ate the measured to be considered for security purposes:
    1. He must Backup all the files that you want to keep on a USB drive.
    2. He must Backup the whole OS onto a external hard drive, possibly with Macrium or Paragon.
    3. Ask him to run Darik's Nuke N'Boot to try to take the PC back to its factory-floor state.
    4. He should Install a new OS. Any one that he wants to use, I would dual boot Windows and Linux
    5. ask him to get someone to run files in through an anti-malware program before he wants to put it on the computer. if this is a fraud case authorities would ask for the whole OS backup. I don't expect these scammers to ever get caught.