Thread: Access Control in LAN and Wireless Network in 802.1x

Access Control in LAN and Wireless Network in 802.1x

Let me tell you that I am new in networking type. I have just done some basics in networking but I am not having an ideas about the wireless network. I want to access control in 802.1x wireless network. Since I was not having enough idea about it, I thought to take some tips from you members. Please tell me how to access control in LAN and Wireless Network in 802.1x? I am sure that you people will help me by providing detailed information about it.

Re: Access Control in LAN and Wireless Network in 802.1x

I think that you should know more basics before you go in depth. The network standard IEEE 802.1x is a supervisory body that checks the user before it accesses the LAN or wireless network. IEEE 802.1x is properly integrated into the network to ensure a certain basic standard of safety in both the LAN and the WLAN. The fear of data theft or data loss in businesses is great. A weak point for information thieves often forms its own corporate network that is not adequately protected against unauthorized internal or external requests. Against viruses, worms and Trojans have intrusion detection or intrusion prevention systems (IDS / IPS) and firewalls provide good protection. However, this procedure verify essentially only the pure data traffic. Against unauthorized users that the network infiltrate these methods are useless. This standard was originally designed for LAN applications designed. But now comes IEEE 802.1X in wireless environments are used. The independent standard adopts the authentication or authorization of a participant in the physical or logical port of a network (LAN, VLAN, WLAN). This is a so-Radius server (Remote Authentication Dial-In User Service) is needed for access control of network user controls.