Thread: What is Border Gateway Protocol?

What is Border Gateway Protocol?

Hello Guys, I wanted to know what Border Gateway Protocol is. I am studying about protocols where I found this term which was quite difficult for me to understand as tired to understand it from different authors but at last I ended it with disappointing. So, if anyone having any information about this topic than please let me know as soon as possible. I want to also know how many bytes does it takes to keepalive a message in Border gateway protocol.

Re: What is Border Gateway Protocol?

The Border Gateway Protocol (BGP) is the interior part of of routing protocol of the Internet. It functions as by making a table of IP networks or 'prefixes' which allocate network destination among sovereign systems which is also called as Autonomous system (AS). It is also popularly known as a path vector protocol. Many of them are not aware that BGP does not utilize conventional IGP metrics, but constructs routing decisions supported on alleyway, network policies and tenet sets

It can also be used in very hefty private IP networks which can also make exploit of BGP. You can take an example where you will find that it will be the amalgamating the quantity of hefty Open Shortest Path First (OSPF) networks where OSPF by itself would not scale to size. You can find another reason where BGP would be multihoming a network for better being without a job or you can it as redundancy.

You must know that most of the internet users are not able to use the Border gateway protocol easily. You can get the service of Border gateway protocol with the help of internet service provider. Its main task is to establish the routing connection between the other connections so that it is usable easily. You also must know that it is also consider as the important protocols available on the internet.