Thread: Getting Google redirects? Check your router

Getting Google redirects? Check your router

I eliminate malware and viruses for a living and ran into impressive at present I encompass by no means seen previous to. Subsequent to eliminating a rogue virus from a customer’s system that was locking it down I noticed anytime I did a Google search and hit it off on a connection it would redirect me to some random site and the customer had a laptop and a desktop together were doing the exact similar thing. I searched together systems for an hour or two beating my head against the wall looking for contaminated host files, services, rootkits etc. Both systems were coming up clean and then I stumbled into their Netgears router page and noticed the DNS server has been set to a manual address as an alternative of automatic DNS for the ISP turns out this is accurately what was causing the redirects and infecting their machines by means of the rogue virus I was amazed to locate that someone figured out how to write a script etc to modify the routers settings (I would suggest everybody set a password to right of entry your router as this might prevent the code/bot from being capable to run its routine on your router) I be able to keep in mind accurately what the redirects were called additional than I imagine it was redirect5.google or something comparable anyway presently a heads up.

Re: Getting Google redirects? Check your router