Thread: Need help on a city to city connection with a 10mbps minimum of connectivity

Need help on a city to city connection with a 10mbps minimum of connectivity

I am currently a student at a computer tech school and have been given the task of coming up with a network proposal. I have some areas that I need more light shed upon so I can gain a better understanding of how things work. In the proposal I have two LAN's ( Greenville and Charlotte ) , I need at least a 10mbps minimum connection between the two cities. In my original rough draft network topology, I had a T1 line connecting the 2 cities, my instructor remarked with, "is this going to be enough?" With a T1 supporting 1.5 mbps, I assume it wouldn't be enough. I have been trying to find pricing on connections, but with little actual information to provide, I haven't been getting anywhere. I know I could go with a T3 line, but aren't they expensive? and wouldn't that be overkill? Also in the proposal, access to the internet will be via the Greenville office and the infrastructure must be capable of supporting VoIP. I just need a direction to go with and better understanding of how the connection is made through cabling, leased lines, towers and what is the pricing, who are the providers? Any help would be welcome.
    I want to know what I'm talking about when I do my presentation, I am eager to learn and I am open to suggestions.

Re: Need help on a city to city connection with a 10mbps minimum of connectivity