Thread: Star Coaxial Network with RJ - 45 Adapters Possible ?

Star Coaxial Network with RJ - 45 Adapters Possible ?

This year , I bought a new house that already had coaxial plates installed on almost each rooms. Each plate uses a single wire (no T conectors are used), which makes the whole installation a physical star coaxial network.

Of course, unless I plan to buy 18 TVs and put them everywhere in myhouse, this setup is kind of useless. However, if I could use these coax wires as an ethernet network, it could help me transform my not- so-reliable wireless computers network to a fast reliable wired network.I've found RJ-to-coax adapters that seem to be able to do the conversion. But, as a certified CISCO administrator, my knowledge of coaxial wires consist of knowing that they have been used an eternity ago in physical bus topologies barely reaching 10mb with a lot of instability. So if I put these physical rj-coax converters, will I be able to reach fast ethernet speeds and standards? Will the coax wires ever be able to reliably support a lan-type computers network?

Re: Star Coaxial Network with RJ - 45 Adapters Possible ?

Quote Originally Posted by Protector View Post
    This year , I bought a new house that already had coaxial plates installed on almost each rooms. Each plate uses a single wire (no T conectors are used), which makes the whole installation a physical star coaxial network.