Thread: ATI RADEON HD 4870 graphic card freezes

ATI RADEON HD 4870 graphic card freezes

I have a problem quite annoying.

I have the following configuration:
    Gigabyte EP45-DS3
    Intel Core 2 Duo E7200
    2 GB DDR2 Corsair PC 6400
    ATI RADEON HD 4870

So when I play, after an hour, I have a freeze on the graphics card. This means that all of a sudden my screen freezes, I have a continuous (not always the sound). I am therefore obliged to restart my PC each time. And every time I play, it almost made me all the time. Here, if you could help me please ?

Re: ATI RADEON HD 4870 graphic card freezes

I am not an expert but I had a similar problem with an ATI graphics card. Open game, no matter which, moreover, artifacts and then began to appear more image ...

In reality it was a cooling problem, I changed the thermal paste and more problems. There is a utility that controls ATI temperatures and push the graphics card into a corner to raise the temperature that you would determine if the problem comes from there.

So download ATI Tools and "Scan for Artifacts" and look at the evolution of temperature.

I tried to download ATI Tool, but the problem is that I'm on Vista and that the version I have does not work with Vista. So my question is: Can you give me a link or the program that runs under vista?

But it becomes quite urgent, because it now freezes after 5-10 minute which is frankly boring.

In addition, someone said that by changing the bios of the card, it is fixed. Truth or lie ?

Start by opening your PC and see if the ventilation of your graphics card is working properly.

The fans are running properly.

And then, I have a question, will changing the graphics card ventilation could fix my problem ?

Before thinking to replace things, just be assure that your problem is well temperatures.