Thread: Project 2010 unstable.

Project 2010 unstable.

Hello all,

I have been working with MS Project since 1996 and have developed a unique toolset using VBA modules, forms customised toolbars etc.

Since the begining I have been able to bring my legacy tools to the latest Project version with little or no trouble. However, now that I have taken the plunge to get into MSProject 2010 thinking it would have the major bugs removed (it being in service for some time now) I have hit some major snags.

For example Project 2010 shuts itself down for no apparent reason while I'm working on a vba module or form, it doesn't always retain previously saved changes, very often it responds to a click of the button in the Ribbon with 'Automation Error' etc etc.

I would greatly appreciate it if someone could give me some tips to resolve stability issue and direct me to a place where I can learn about the changes to VBA syntax that seem to have been implemented.

Thanking you in anticipation,

A very frustrated MS Project User.

Re: Project 2010 unstable.

Do you get any kind of error message when the Project 2010 crashes. Sometimes modifying the data initialisation for any data can cause the form controls to access uninitialised data and this problem occurs. Changing this data initialisation back resolves the crashes, so it might be a problem in your case.

Hello Simond,

Thanks for getting back to me so quickly.

The crashing occurs when I'm in the VBE and I've decided to save my work.

Clicking Save in VBE immediately shuts down the application with no warning or error message.

My knowledge of VBA comes from tracing macros and reading the result so I have to ask the simpletons question - what do you mean by 'data initialisation'?

FYI regarding my syntax problems:
    I have found by trial and error that a macro written eg:
    Sub pjpBubbles()
    pjpBubbleForm.Show
    End Sub
    gives rise to an "Automation Error" and fails.

However when written so:-