Thread: Need help to understand USB internet in India

Need help to understand USB internet in India

Hello there,

I am new to mobile internet since all my life I have only used a desktop with a fixed line connection. I am now purchasing a laptop and in addition to a fixed line connection which will probably be my primary connection, I would also like to have a mobile internet connection for when I travel.

I will be based mostly in Calcutta.

There are many providers offering several plans with quite complicated tariff structures which are making me run in circles. But more than that I am at a loss to understand all the technology that is now available. I am seeing words like EVDO, 2 G, 3 G, GPRS etc and I don't really understand what they are or what is good.

I am also unable to find any one link on the internet that gives comprehensive information on what all these terms mean. Essentially I am at a loss to properly understand what is going on.

Can someone please initiate me on this? I will be very grateful if someone can refer me to some links where I can read about the current status of mobile internet in India and understand it so that I might be able to make an informed decision on what technology/provider/plan I should go far.

If not, if someone can offer me some useful pointers, I will much appreciate.

Thanks.

Re: Need help to understand USB internet in India

EVDO stands for Evolution Data Optimized and it is a 3G mobile broadband technology, currently the EVDO modems are available from Sprint and Verizon.
    2G and 3G are wireless network technology which are mostly used for mobile connectivity, 3G gives you better browsing and downloading speed as compared to that of 2G .