Thread: Unable to increase cpu fan speed while overclocking

Unable to increase cpu fan speed while overclocking

I am new to overclocking. I am just trying to test my processor. I have a AMD FX8350 processor. I had used a few tools to overclock the same. I found that the processor is heating really fast. I am using the stock fan on it. I had also installed a fan control utility. But I am not able to boost the speed with that. A speed is stuck at particular thing. It is not going ahead. When I overclock the cpu temperature hikes to 80degree instantly from the regular 40degree. It can be dangerous if I keep on carrying out the process.

Re: Unable to increase cpu fan speed while overclocking

To get a good amount of cooling stuff it is recommended that you must go ahead in getting a new fan. Don't rely on the stock one. Compare to Intel, AMD processors heats up really fast. They can cause problem with performance also. The best and safest way according to me is a liquid cooler. Today we can find ample of portable liquid cooler kits in the market. You can simply get one with good fan setup and test that. It will work well. Or you can go with full size cpu cooler also. Do not rely on your stock fan.

As far as I know you cannot get much from the stock fan. To get more rpm you will have to go with bigger fans. There are ample of them available online. And if your cpu is getting heated instantly then it means the current fan is not capable enough to draw out maximum heat. Due to which it is getting hotter while using. You must simply change it. And do not overclock without testing much. You can destroy your processor. Overclocking only works stable if there is a good cooling solution in your system.