Thread: Installation of RAID or AHCI on Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3 using Windows 7

Installation of RAID or AHCI on Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3 using Windows 7

I am a beginner when it comes to building of a PC. I have started building a PC using a Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3 motherboard. I am at the stage where I have to install BIOS for the motherboard. I am bit confused between which BIOS setting should I use for Marvell & Intel SATA ports, X2 SSD RAID0 or X2 WD BLACK RAIDO AHCI. I will be installing Windows 7 as my Operating system. Can anybody help me building such a system? Any help will be appreciated.

re: Installation of RAID or AHCI on Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3 using Windows 7

Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3 motherboard has function to have three types BIOS; IDE, RAIDxhd and AHCI. If you are installing Windows 7 as your operating system than it has one advantage. It sets the Intel’s data port to RAIDxhd settings by default. So I suggest you to use X2 SSD RAID0 BIOS settings in your PC. But if comparison is made between ACHI type of BIOS and RAIDxhd type, then ACHI BIOS provides better control over the system. If you are using Western Digital Caviar Black hard disks, then set RAID 0 arrays using the 60 GB mSata as a cache through Intel rapid storage technology. If you are using Marvell Gsata3-6 or GSata3_7 ports, then the hard disk will be automatically set to RAID 0 arrays. You can use Trim Support technology to get such outcome.