Thread: Need advice with FCS Raid Manager Disk settings

Need advice with FCS Raid Manager Disk settings

Hello friends, recently I was suppose to replace the hard disk on my Primergy RX server, on the serverview Raid manager it showed that the other disks in the RAID were set to “NO” where as the foreign configuration was set to YES, but however it did work. There are also certain things which confuse me a lot but also on the other hand they seem to be correct.

As I have never tried out this procedure ever before I just wanted to get an assurance for anyone over here that the drive and the operating system and application or any other software will always remain unaffected and will not render the disk as reformatted or deleted after initiating this procedure. I know that rebuilding a server and set it back to its original position has always been a problem. So is there anyone who can suggest me or advice me with the operation I need to take place.

Re: Need advice with FCS Raid Manager Disk settings

Yes definitely I will really help you out with this thing, if you check out in the manual it has been clearly shown the procedure for “manage foreign configuration” and also mentioned or stated to select “Clear” in order to remove any of the foreign configuration from the RAID array in the server and then later on it would ask for the confirmation with only YES that is typed in the block. The foreign config always come up with the conclusion of the RAID configuration that is being held on any disk in the array or the controller in NVRAM.
    Each and every connection disk has a COD i.e. configuration on Disk, which however at the starting of the disk takes up small areas.