Thread: Maxtor 250gb hard drive is not turning on.

Maxtor 250gb hard drive is not turning on.

Hi friends I am using the DELL laptop and I am using windows 7 it. I have also bought Maxtor 250gb hard drive for my outdoor use. Basically I am a photographer and I normally use my hard drive to take the backup of all my assignments. One day I was uploading the photos on internet from my hard drive and suddenly I noticed that my hard drive gets very hot. I don’t know what is wrong but I am facing this problem for the first time and I don’t know what is wrong it.

Re: Maxtor 250gb hard drive is not turning on.

I have read your problem and first of all I want to know about how long you keep your hard drive connected with your laptop? And are you trying to upload the photos directly from your hard drive? If you are uploading directly then I suggest you to first copy all the photos on your laptop and then try to upload it on the internet. Because sometimes it gives all the loads to hard drive and that may be the reason for the heating the hard drive. So try this trick.

I normally use my hard drive for more than 7 to 8 hours. After reading your post I have tried to upload the photos after copying it in to the laptop but after trying this thing also I am facing the same problem again please help me what should I do solve this problem? If you have any idea then please help me to solve this problem. I am really worried about my hard drive. Is there any chance of having the problem with laptop mother board? Please reply me as soon as possible.