Thread: What are the difference between Intel SSD Toolbox Optimizer and Secure Erase Tools

What are the difference between Intel SSD Toolbox Optimizer and Secure Erase Tools

I wanted to know the difference between the SSD Toolbox Optimizer and the Secure Erase Tools and what features they provide and how we can use them both. I want to know that it is possible to stand-in Intel SSD Optimizer functionality by safe erase tools. Because I have heard that many of these tools offers with functions which fill free space by "0". I am not technical person so don’t have much idea, so if anyone having knowledge about these please do provide me with the information in this forum.

Re: Intel SSD Toolbox Optimizer vs. Secure Erase Tools

The Intel optimizer from the Solid State Drive toolbox and the System Configuration Tuner are tools that are recommend by Intel to have best possible performance by the Solid State Drive. Whereas the secure erase application is recommended for unusual issues or at time when you want to reinstall the operating system. At that time if you want to erase the Solid State Drive or removing all information from your SSD or remove corrupted information from your Solid State Drive. You can sure use both the application individually as per your need but can’t do the substitution of functionality. So make sure you don't try to have this substitution done because both of them work for different purpose.

You can have latest version of Intel Solid State Drive Toolbox fr om the official Intel website. It provide you with lots of functionality as:
    • Exposure the drive classification data for Intel SSDs, as well as other drives in your machine.
    • Accessing Intel SSD administration features like SSD Optimizer, System Configuration Tuner.
    • Running investigative scans on Intel SSDs to confirm for any READ or WRITE errors.

Where as Secure Erase Tools provide you with different functionality and features, so you can not substitute one other function.