Thread: Career in Mechanical Engineering in India

Career in Mechanical Engineering in India

I am currently studying in F.Y.B.Sc. I.T. Last year I had tried for engineering courses, but due to inadequate makes in entrance test I couldn’t apply for engineering courses. This year I am again attempting the entrance test I am confident of acquiring enough marks to gain admission for engineering courses. My interest lies in Mechanical engineering. Can anybody tell me about Mechanical engineering? Which colleges should I try for Mechanical engineering?

Re: Career in Mechanical Engineering in India

Mechanical engineering is the branch of engineering that deals with principles of physics and material science for designing, analyzing, developing and maintaining mechanical components. This field involves use of mechanical skills and heat for operation and development of machines and tools. It is one of the oldest branches of engineering. Mechanical engineers can work on many things like fax machine, motor bikes, cars, aircraft & powerplant.

The mechanical engineering creates a solid base of knowledge in mind of person for professional engineering practice and study in mechanical engineering field. The intention of this course is to develop student’s ability to apply scientific methods in designing and evaluation of mechanical systems. The students are trained using challenging design problem to help them develop ability to solve such problems in real life.

The course includes design, operation, maintenance & analysis of machines and their components, mechanical tools, power system in the machines, solar energy, heat energy, wind energy and many more. Along with the basic science, mechanical engineering also trains student in design, analysis, manufacture & operation of complex mechanical machinery like prime movers, pumps, compressors, machine tools, mass production technique etc.