Thread: How to configure two monitors on Ubuntu 9.10

How to configure two monitors on Ubuntu 9.10

Hi, i am a Vista user and want some tips from you all guys regarding the same. i have seen in some offices using dual monitor on a system. Well, i have done the same on my Windows Vista computer but recently i had installed Ubuntu on one of my computer and wanna do the same with this system as well. As i am new to Linux Ubuntu. Could you guys please make me know how can i configure two monitors on Ubuntu 9.10 ? Help appreciated..

Re: How to configure two monitors on Ubuntu 9.10

To do this, you obviously have the right equipment, that is to say a graphics card with multiple video outputs, or multiple graphics cards. If you have a laptop, you can plug in an external monitor simultaneously and thus use the laptop screen and the next. DVI, VGA, ..., the more difficult will be to verify that you have good cables and good to plug your screens on your computer. To connect two monitor, just go through these steps:-

• Turn off your computer and turn it to see the face behind the computer.
    • Locate your adapter. A cable from your monitor is already there.
    • If a second outlet is available, you can use it to connect a second screen.
    • Check the format of the capture: VGA or DVI. Here, the catch is a DVI connector.
    • On the other hand, making sure at the end of the cable from your second monitor: VGA or DVI. The decision here is a DVI connector.
    • Buy if need an adapter to use a VGA cable on a DVI or vice versa, a DVI to a VGA.
    • Connect your second monitor to your computer and you are done.

Re: How to configure two monitors on Ubuntu 9.10