Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Antec VP450 for HD 7850

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    21

    Antec VP450 for HD 7850

    I have a very old Antec VP450 Power Supply which comes with 18amps on 2x12v rails. I am getting a second hand HD 7850 graphics card from my friend so I was thinking if this PSU will be able to handle this video card without any issues. I also got a Intel i3-4150 CPU running in my system so I dont think there will be any issues related to bottleneck with the processor. Along with this I have a 6GB DDR3 RAM installed. So, will the PSU suffice or should i buy a new one? Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    656

    Re: Antec VP450 for HD 7850

    Well, I think that if you are going to play new games like Dying Light or Far Cry 4 then the CPU might bottleneck a little. But with Antec VP450 power supply, it will work for a HD 7850 graphics card. Note that if you will be overclocking then it might not be enough though. I would also not be too much comfortable with that PSU for a long run. The PSU seems to be good within the range to support the power output but a slighlty little more power wattage PSU will give you long run benefit.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1,187

    Re: Antec VP450 for HD 7850

    I am having an old system that is running with an 430W Power Supply which is giving power to a HD 6950 graphics card and I am able to play Battlefield game on max settings. Normally, it depends on the other hardware components you have in your pc as well. Also the Antec VP450 power supply only has a single 6-pin PCIe connector, so if you would want to upgrade your graphics card later then you will require atleast 2 pcie connector.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    1,010

    Re: Antec VP450 for HD 7850

    I also think that the HD 7850 card requires 2 PCIE pin connectors and the Antec VP450 Power Supply only has one. On the HIS radeon website, it is stated that this similar model card requires atleast 500W power supply. However with the additional components in the computer I would grab a 600W psu for sure. I would recommend you to buy a Corsair Builder Series Cx600 which will cost you only $80 or so.

Similar Threads

  1. Antec VP450 or Corsair CX430 V2 power supply
    By Irfan khan in forum Antec Brand Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-09-2014, 11:49 AM
  2. Seasonic SS-400BT vs Antec VP450 PSU
    By The Truth in forum Antec Brand Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30-05-2014, 12:11 PM
  3. How to overclock HD 7850 2GB
    By Claudius in forum Overclocking & Computer Modification
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-06-2013, 03:45 PM
  4. ANTEC P182 or ANTEC 1200
    By Luis234 in forum Hardware Peripherals
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 31-03-2009, 06:24 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 1,675,582,678.25202 seconds with 17 queries