Thread: STOP: c000021a {fatal system error}

STOP: c000021a {fatal system error}

I have a gateway computer.I try to install SP3 on my computer and it failed.Now I have this blue screen that saids this:
    STOP: c000021a {FATAL SYSTEM ERROR}
    The windows logon process system process terminated unexpectedly with a status of 0xc0000005 (0x00000000 0x00000000)
    The system has been shut down

I tried safe mode but it said that windows xp can't run safe mode setup has restarted.

so i can't access safe mode.
    And I lost my setup CD a long time ago.
    Is there a solution to this problem, i really need help and i am also new to commands and stuff but i can understand steps and stuff to do.Please I need help.

Re: c000021a {fatal system error}

Check the below articles to troubleshoot the issue that you are facing:

GoBack causes a Stop error C000021a:
    http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=316503&sd

Internet Explorer Maintenance Policies May Cause an Access Violation in Winlogon:
    http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=318666&sd

Oh well i have windows xp
    my computer is:
    Gateway GT5220
    I am going to check those links, thanks.

I try them but they didn't work. I am really hoping there are more options i can try.

I try the recovery option in the gateway guide, but i still have the blue screen and the same problem. I can't access safe mode. I don't know what dr. watson is, I am so confused now.

Well i know what DR.Watson is, but i don't how to install it or download of whatever. I also get one beep when i start up my pc or when restarts by itself.I would like to thank you two for helping me*even though i am still having this problem* This all happen just because i try to install SP3 for my gateway pc.Then i delete it in safe mode which started this.

The BIOS is AWARD, and i had to press f2 to get to the BIOS settings. I am there now,What should i do in the BIOS setting? So are you saying since the software isn't the problem then the Hardware is?