Thread: XP System Restore not working

XP System Restore not working

I have a 5 year + old Dell with XP installed. I have recently tried several tweaks to the system as recommended from the book "Hacking Windows XP" and after changes to the Start Up and System Boot files, I not only lost, not only my DSL connection, but was unable to change the date on System Restore or change the month. Note: after disabling some of the unwanted boot files and then re-booting the PC, I found that all of the System Files were disabled......don't understand that.
    This is my first time with making these types of modifications.....guess I'm in over my head. Can anyone help?

Re: XP System Restore not working

Can you please tell us in details what kind of hacks you have applied, you will need to give us some specific information. Also, you said that the system files were disabled, what does that means?

First off.......Thank you for responding to my 'help' request. For clarification, this is a home computer with Verizon DSL internet service but does not have any network connections. I do have a laptop that feeds internet from a Verizon router.
    Here's basically what I did in an attempt to speed up my computer:
    I first modified the "boot.ini" file by typing "/noguiboot" after the words 'fastdetect' in the last line of the XP existing boot file instructions to eliminate the Windows XP start up screen. I also changed the "timeout" setting from 30 seconds to 3 seconds.
    In a related action to the above.....I went to the system configuration settings and disabled (5)...and only (5) of the start up functions: dxdllreg, hkcmd, igfxtray, realsched, UMAX VistaAccess (for an old flatbed scanner I no longer have). I made the determination of which ones to disable by going to a website called 'answersthatwork.com for an evaluation of what each of these start-ups do before disableing them.