Thread: "Power Options" in control panel doesn't work

"Power Options" in control panel doesn't work

I am getting an exception errror relating to a powercfg.cpl problem on a WindowsXP Pro SP3 system. (Sony VAIO laptop). I can run other .cpl files but I get an error message about powercfg.cpl when I try running "power Options" in the control panel or running the .cpl file from Start|RUN. I have backed up the 3 powercfg related files in system32 and replaced them with files from my XP Pro SP3 desktop system but it still works the same.

The exact error message is <An exception occurred while trying to run "shell32.dll,Control_RunDLL "C:\WINDOWS\system32\powercfg.cpl",">

I really don't want to reload the system for this small error...but I don't just want to live with it either.

Someone please help. I am a Windows/Linux Sysadmin.

Re: "Power Options" in control panel doesn't work

I'm having this exact same problem on a Thinkpad T61P with Windows XP Pro SP2. Help would definitely be appreciated!

I have seen the same problem reported on other forums but nobody seems to know how to fix it beyond reinstalling the OS. I think it may happen when laptop manufacturer power control software is already installed and then removed by the user. I think it is leaving the "Power Options" icon pointed to something that has now been uninstalled. I used CCleaner to scan the registry and fix any problems but that didn't fix this error. SOMEBODY PLEASE ANSWER THIS !!

The issue seems to be caused by Ccleaner I think.

Microsoft Tech Team suggested to try
    Go to start => run and type 'powercfg /RestoreDefaultPolicies' . I haven't tried it yet.

Have you tried uninstalling CCleaner? Just try to do it and then see if it works or not.