Thread: Sketchup runs too slow on Windows Vista

sad Sketchup runs too slow on Windows Vista

Hello Everybody,

I'm running Windows Vista as my operating system. As i'm an architecture student, i most often uses Sketchup software on my system. The problem is that it runs too slow on Windows Vista. I don't understand why i'm having such problem on my system. I need this software everyday in order to get support, to work with AutoCad and 3D Studio Max. Can any one please help me out to get rid of this issue? Any help on this issue would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Re: Sketchup runs too slow on Windows Vista

You can try to disable many visual features in Vista, in order to take a lot of load off of your CPU and drastically increase speed.

1. Disable the fancy Vista Interface and return to the "Classic" windows interface. To do so, go to the Control Panel and hit "Classic View" on the left side, this will bring up a lot more icons which are easier to navigate. Then click on the "Perfomance Rating and Tools" button. This will bring up a new window with a lot of features to help improve the perfomance of Vista. On the left side click on "Advanced Tools" and go to "Adjust the appearance and perfomance of Windows" near the bottom. Under the "Visual Effects" tab click on "Adjust for best perfomance".
    2. In the same window under the "Advanced" tab you can choose to change your page file or virtual memory size. This is what windows uses to store application data when there is not enough physical memory on the computer(RAM). It allocated a certain amount of space on the hard drive, and by increasing this value by a couple hundred it can cut down on the amount of time windows spends resizing this file.