Thread: How to use Picasa to backup photos?

How to use Picasa to backup photos?

Hello friends, I am new with the Picasa and want to know about that. I like all the features that they have given and I would like to know that how can I use the Picasa so that I can backup the photos in it. I really know nothing about that. If you are having any idea regarding this then please post that over here. I searched for the same on web but cannot detailed information on it and so started a new thread over here. Thank you so much in advance for reading and replying for this.

Re: How to use Picasa to backup photos?

Yes, it is possible for you to make the Picasa Web Albums to store the backups for the photos that you have stored in it. But if you want to do this then it is necessary that your files must meet the conditions below and if it is not fulfilling the condition givn below then you will not be able to make the backup for that.
    • The original file format JPG.
    • The image does not contain unsaved changes.
    • The image was uploaded in original size.

If the file does not meet these conditions, Picasa creates a new copy of the image saved in JPG format and upload to the online service. And in that it is not possible to upload the original file:
    • The original file format is JPG (TIF, PSD, any RAW format, etc..).
    • You have made changes using the functions I'm feeling lucky, Red Eye, Crop, and so on.
    • The image has not been uploaded in their original size, but in a different resolution.

The drawback to the JPG format is that each time an image is saved in this format, part of the image information is lost inevitably. This is no problem to share photos online or to print at normal size. If you want to preserve the original state of files that do not meet the above conditions for storage in Picasa Web Albums as a backup, use Picasa to store them in an alternate drive or a CD or DVD.

Re: How to use Picasa to backup photos?