Thread: Adobe Reader X updates fails reverts installation of the software

Adobe Reader X updates fails reverts installation of the software

I am a computer engineer and I just provided one of my clients with Adobe Reader X. I installed it in his PC. After sometime he called me back to tell that he can’t find Adobe Reader X on his computer. After long chat on phone I realized that something has went wrong. So I went back to his office and installed again. After a reboot of system, I noticed that the installed Adobe Reader X had disappeared from his system. After many futile attempts, I realized that Adobe Reader is trying to update itself and during this process some error occurs which uninstall it from the system. Can somebody help me find solution on this issue? For now I have turned off the updates off.

re: Adobe Reader X updates fails reverts installation of the software

I too had to face this problem by update process of Adobe Reader X. This error is actually caused due to denied access by Windows to modify its default file structure. This is the location c:\program files(x86)\Common Files\Adobe\ARM\1.0 where the Adobe Reader X wants to create its files. This location is meant for storage of Windows core files and any change can lead to major upset in functioning of Windows. So Windows, doesn’t allow privileges to make any modification at this location giving rise to the error.