Thread: Opening PDF file in Internet Explorer with Adobe Plug-in 10.1.2.X

Opening PDF file in Internet Explorer with Adobe Plug-in 10.1.2.X

I am a beginner at Web Designing. I am using JSP for developing web pages. In one of the web page I need to give link which will open the PDF file in new Window. I am using Internet Explorer 8 for testing. I can’t figure out how to do it, can somebody help me with it?

Re: Opening PDF file in Internet Explorer with Adobe Plug-in 10.1.2.X

I too was trying to achieve the same thing as you are trying to. I too used JSP for development and TomCat 6.0 for launching it. I was almost successful, after clicking the link; a JavaScript runs in the background and opens the pdf in a new window. But after I close the window and try to open it again, only a gray patch appears. I tried it with different browsers, but all the reasons were same.

It can be because of TomCat settings, when I tried the same thing happened, that is the pdf file doesn’t open the second time. After closing the window second time, another pdf document that I have inserted in <iframe> tag starts to be displayed. This problem occurred only whenever I displayed any other pdf file using <iframe> tag. I think I will use HTML for creating this part. Does anyone have a code ready, so that I can directly use it rather than building all over again from scratch?

<html>
    <head>
    <script type="text/javascript">
    // <![CDATA[
    function showPDF(fileToShow) { window.open(fileToShow,'PDFWindow','toolbar=0,menubar=0,location=0,di rectories=0,status=0,resizable=0'); }
    // ]]>
    </script>
    </head>
    <body>
    <b>Page 2</b><br /><br />
    <a onclick="showPDF('test.pdf');">[Open PDF in new window with JavaScipt]</a>
    </body>
    </html>
    This code worked for me, but since you are using TomCat 6.0, maybe you will need to make some modifications to execute it properly.

I think I can give you some suggestions that might help you overcome the problem.