Thread: Question regarding the equipment required to record voice for processing in Audacity

Question regarding the equipment required to record voice for processing in Audacity

I am a sound engineer and will soon start to work on Audacity. Actually the company for which I work has changed to audacity for its next few projects. So I wanted to know is that which equipments are best to record sound which later will be processed in audacity. I want to it so that I can request them from the office to be setup for my comfort. Any help will be appreciated.

Re: Question regarding the equipment required to record voice for processing in Audacity

You can ask for USB Headset. It can prove as one of the cheapest equipment for voice recording and will also be convenient for basic recording. Any headphone will be good for recording general sounds, but if you are need for a professional studio sort of sounds, then I won’t recommend it for major professional use. The capsule that captures sound should be placed along the side of the mouth for best result. If placed in front it might capture breathing and other useless sounds along with useful sounds. Placing it on side of mouth, it won’t be disturbed by exhaling of air from mouth and nose.

Re: Question regarding the equipment required to record voice for processing in Audacity

You can also use a USB Microphone. I use Behringer C-1 Studio Condenser Microphone and it has never disappointed me. To enhance its performance, you can use it with pop-shield. But it has some drawbacks. It can’t used in large distance as the wire connecting it to computer is generally short. You can’t use 2 microphones on same computer. You will need to switch between 2 recording devices if need persists. You won’t be able to record less audible sounds on normal microphones. You will need to buy an expensive one for that purpose.