Thread: Sort Data disabled in Microsoft Excel 2007

Sort Data disabled in Microsoft Excel 2007

I have two columns that I want to sort. Unfortunately, stupid Excel 2007 has "Sort & Filter" on the "Home" ribbon, and everything on the "Data" ribbon disabled. Why can't I sort? And why on earth did Microsoft move everything around. Nothing works like it used to. It's so very frustrating!

Re: Sort Data disabled in Microsoft Excel 2007

Check if you have more than one worksheet selected. If so, click on the tab of an unselected sheet or if all selected, click on any tab. (Multiple sheets are selected by holding Ctrl key and clicking on another sheet.)

I found out the problem: Excel had the label "[Group]" in the header. I looked that up on this forum and found that I had to right click the sheet tab and select "Ungroup". Talk about this new Office being so totally unintuitive! I've used Excel for more than a decade, I'm a computer programmer, and yet this new Office from Microsoft has all of this hidden little quirks that are incredibly frustrating.

I'm here at work just a very stupid problem with Excel. I have just one price table. These will now be sorted so that top of the table the lowest in the table below are the highest values. The table is divided as follows:
    • Column A - AY = ZIP
    • Line 6-65 = weight