Thread: MS Project help with duration and predessor scheduling

MS Project help with duration and predessor scheduling

Hi all

Just wondering if someone can help me with a problem I'm having.
    I'm relatively new to MS Project and am having fun trying to set up a project plan!

Basically I have a milestone date for a task group which is the initial set up date of a program.
    At various timepoints from this initial date I have tasks to do...
    e.g. 1 month, 3 month, 6 month, 9 month and 12 month.

I was intending on setting these tasks as sub tasks of the main task. I want these to start at 1 calendar month after the milestone, 3 calendar months after the initial milestone etc

(So if the milestone was 1st Jan 2012, I want the first task to be 1 month - the 1st of Feb 2012 - or the nearest working day to that)

However, the duration of these sub tasks are in days (e.g. 10 or 15 days) but I want the duration to be working days not calendar days (which in my case is Monday - Friday and I have also set up my calendar to include all public holidays and non-working days)

Is this possible?

Thanks in advance

Re: MS Project help with duration and predessor scheduling

If you are new to this then you must go through the below given link that will let you to understand that wow scheduling works in Project.

How scheduling works in Project

Re: MS Project help with duration and predessor scheduling

Quote Originally Posted by HJM View Post
    Hi all

Just wondering if someone can help me with a problem I'm having.
    I'm relatively new to MS Project and am having fun trying to set up a project plan!

Basically I have a milestone date for a task group which is the initial set up date of a program.
    At various timepoints from this initial date I have tasks to do...
    e.g. 1 month, 3 month, 6 month, 9 month and 12 month.