Thread: Startx is failing on the BackTrack 5

Startx is failing on the BackTrack 5

I am new to this particular forum and I wanted to ask very first questions to the users of this particular forum. I am hoping that the users of this particular forum would help me out to get the requirement of mine. I have installed BackTrack 5 on the computer of mine. I have entered StartX command on the computer of mine but I have found the GUI is not loading even it is aborted by prompting with an error message. Let me know whether this particular issue is happening on the computer. Thanks a lot in advance.

Re: Startx is failing on the BackTrack 5

You should provide appropriate details which would help you out to figure out the root cause of the problem. Let me know which operating system do you have installed on the computer? How are you running on the computer? Tell me about the hardware as well as software setup of the computer of yours. Do you getting any error message on the computer? If your answer is so then post the error message over here. It would be helpful to understand the situation appropriately.

Well looking at the matter I am suggesting that you should simply try to install the vesa driver on the computer of yours. also I recommend that you should provide the content of the /var/log/Xorg.log. you should simply move to the directory which I have mentioned and copy the entire content of the Xorg.log and simply paste the same over here. I would examine the log file and I would give you further assistance in this particular problem.

In order to fix the matter I am suggesting following command which you should execute. i recommend that you should copy and paste and then execute the same.
    Code:
    rm /root/.kde/cache-root/icon-cache.kcache
    rm /root/.kde/cache-root/plasma_theme_Volatile.kcache
    once you have run the above mentiond command and reboot the computer and see whether it is working or not.