Thread: Need to append a sequential number to a date field in access

Need to append a sequential number to a date field in access

I am planning to add a sequential number to a date field in an Access form. The format which I am using for it is PR 1 Feb XX, the PR is fixed, the present date as well as the XX is my sequential number I would like to add. Is there a means, to perform this at what time the date is entered? And I will require the sequential number on the way to reset to 01 by means of a new day.I am new to this, any assist would be greatly appreciated.

Re: Need to append a sequential number to a date field in access

As per my knowledge this will requires a Query to get the most recent Number for the present Date (if it returns no records then it resets to 01) and several VBA code which you be able to supply for the After Update event of the Date field. Can you tell me how do you presently fill the field? If it is just the present date being entered, it can all be done by means of the Visual Basic for Applications (VBA).

Thank you for your suggestion. A date is inserted in the form furthermore from there I would like to add the PR before the date as well as the sequential number at the back of the date. Does that make logic? Do I require saving my date field in a query by itself? Sorry for the misunderstanding, but type of understand require more help. Thanks so much for your concentration to this, be thankful for!