Thread: Adobe Reader 10 faces change in certificate validation algorithm

Adobe Reader 10 faces change in certificate validation algorithm

I was studying the validation certificates of various softwares when I decided to check certificates of Adobe Products. So I studied certificate of Adobe Reader 10.1.1 and 10.1.2. I noticed that the algorithm used for validation of the certificates of both is very different. Even the digital signature on the certificates varies. What I observed was before Adobe Reader 10.1.2 no revocation checking is performed for a certificate marked as a trust anchor. Why has this change in certification done?

Re: Adobe Reader 10 faces change in certificate validation algorithm

If you had studied the certificate validation of Adobe Reader from very earlier version than the change is not new. It was also applied in Adobe Reader 9.5. The main intention of this change is to protect users where Trust Anchors faces danger of being compromised. This algorithm provides bRevCheckTrust. When the trust anchor information is presented in form of certificate, the name included in the subject field is utilized as the trusted issuer name. The contents of the subjectPublicKeyInfo field is then treated as source for trusted public key algorithm and the trusted public key.

If you are studying the certificates for too long, let me explain you the concept of certificate validation algorithm in brief,
    • Alice gets its certificate from CA Carl.
    • Carl gets its certificate from CA Carl Root.
    • Carl uses OCSP as revocation mechanism, that is, the certificate of Alice has an authority to access information pointing to the OCSP responder of Carl.
    • That OCSP responder uses a OCSP signing certificate provide by CA Berta.
    • Berta gets its certificate from CA Berta Root.