Thread: Cannot open the powerpoint files in MS Powerpoint 2007 created in older versions of MS OffIce ?

Cannot open the powerpoint files in MS Powerpoint 2007 created in older versions of MS OffIce ?

Hi everyone , I am a data analyst and analyst a big stock of data everyday, so i have to prepare a presentation almost in every month. I am in this profession since 12 years , so I have a large volume of power point files in in various format of MS Power point. Since I upgraded my system last month. I use Windows 7 operating system and Intel Quad core processor and installed MS Office 2007. Prior to this I had MS Office 2003 which i used to operate on Windows XP professional edition.I have also used MS Office 97 many years back in my older system. I have ppt files of of 97 version too in my hard disk. But when I try open it in the 2007 it will not open. Can any one give solution to this issue as I need to some research and present a record of all those files.

Re: Cannot open the powerpoint files in MS Powerpoint 2007 created in older versions of MS OffIce ?

I am very sorry to tell you the MS Office version of 2007 which you recently installed a few days back will not be able to open in the older version of Office tool of 1997 year and some time not even in 2003 version as well. Because if you create any file whether it be a power point presentation file or a word or excel file, file extension which is appended with the file name after the file is saved is distinct from that of 2003 version of office. consider the example of power point file itself , once you save it in 2007 , it saves with .pptx file extension while in 2003 the extension is .ppt. So all those presentations you had created in the older version of MS office then, then those will not open in MS PowerPoint 2007. Good Luck for your presentation.

Re: Cannot open the powerpoint files in MS Powerpoint 2007 created in older versions of MS OffIce ?