Become a Member!
Forgot your username/password?
Tags Active Topics RSS Search Mark Forums Read

Sponsored Links

Best media player for linux vinyl or audacity

Windows Software

Old 16-10-2010

Best media player for linux vinyl or audacity

I have been using windows XP operating system since last two years and now i have purchased a Sony Vaio laptop which is installed with with Ubuntu 10.04. i am a music lover and hence i want to know which is the best application for playing music files on ubuntu. I have been using real player on my windows XP. please tell me whether it is possible t0 have real player on Ubuntu. Also can you suggest me which application would be better to for playing media files I do have heard of the vinyl and the audacity media player. i would really appreciate any help in this matter.

Old 16-10-2010

Re: Best media player for linux vinyl or audacity

Ubuntu offers a wide range of multimedia applications from their repositories Main, Universe and Multiverse. To help you choose the music player or the best video editor, it is useful to distinguish between the media players themselves (or 'front-ends) and the other of reproduction (playback) (' back-ends') they use. The front ends are the applications that interact with your desktop. Some are tightly integrated with the desktop environment, GNOME and KDE, others are platform-independent. While some applications such as Mplayer and XMMS, use their own playback engine, the other advantage of two major back-ends that are the gstreamer and xine. Some players support both gstreamer and xine. Your decision will depend on the combination of caracter?scicas, performance, media format options, your desktop environment and other personal preferences.
Old 16-10-2010