Go Back   TechArena Community > Software > Windows Software
Become a Member!
Forgot your username/password?
Tags Active Topics RSS Search Mark Forums Read

Old 07-05-2010

Installing aircrack-ng on ubuntu

Hello,
I just installed the latest version of ubuntu 8.10 because I was afraid of not having enough knowledge to manage Linux backtrack3. I have my little backtrack 3 usb but I really have the tools airmon, airodump and aircrack on my Ubuntu. Not being a Linux expert I am asking your help to do a clean installation of these tools. And I know there are several versions of aircrack ptw which thus has as much to install the latest version on bt3 final. Oh yes, and also implement the patch for drivers rtl 8187 as tell me if I'm wrong but as they are patched to backtrack a better efficiency?
Old 07-05-2010

Re: Installing aircrack-ng on ubuntu

Hello,
If you are on ubuntu then you can easily do this
Code:
 "apt-get install aircrack-ng"
Just run the above command in the terminal as a root user and see in your etc directory that the application or software is been installed. After that you have to just run it from the terminal or else if you need to launch it in a graphical manner then you can use the launcher for it.
Old 07-05-2010

Hello,
You can install the suite aircrackas stated in the above post, but if you want the latest version, you can also download the sources from the aircrack
Code:
aircrack-ng.org
And compile them (like all Linux distributions). Personally, I did not patch the drivers for my Alfa 500 and it worked nickel. Though you can use the patch if you need it. If you need more information on this then you can post back.
Old 07-05-2010

Hello,