Thread: What is Excel Statistical Functions: POISSON?

What is Excel Statistical Functions: POISSON?

Hello everyone,
    I am currently studying with the statistical functions of an Excel. I am not having much knowledge about the statistical functions that are used in Excel. I am being told to write about the POISSON in an assignment, but since I don't know anything about it, I thought to take help from you guys.!! So please tell me what is Excel Statistical Functions: POISSON? Expecting some help soon.!!

Re: What is Excel Statistical Functions: POISSON?

When cumulative = TRUE, the function POISSON (x, mu, cumulative) returns the probability that a random variable with mean mu POISSON takes a value less than or equal to x. When cumulative = FALSE, POISSON returns the probability that a random variable takes a value exactly equal to x. POISSON distribution is often used to model the number of occurrences of certain events such as the number of customers arriving in a function to put in the queue or the number of proofreading errors in an article. Because the POISSON distribution is used to count this way, x must be a non-negative integer.
    Blessings to you

the following is the Syntax of the Poisson :
    • POISSON (x, mu, cumulative)

You should know that x is a non-negative integer, mu is a positive number, but not necessarily an integer and cumulative is a logical variable that takes the values True or False.
    QTechnology Ultra-Quiet ATX PSU 460W I MSI K8N Neo4-F I AMD Opteron 144 CABNE0545 2.66Ghz I 2 x 512MB RAM I 380GB Maxtor SATAI Raid0 Hard Drive I 40GB Maxtor IDE Hard Drive I Nvidia GeForce 7900GTX I Win XP Home Service Pack 2 I Soundblaster Xtreme Fidelity Fatal1ty I Mercury Home Theater HT-4500