Thread: How to Add a network drive to windows 7 Library

How to Add a network drive to windows 7 Library

Hi, i am new to this forum. Basically i am Windows Xp user but recently have upgraded one of my pc to Windows 7. Now, as i am new to this operating system, am not much familiar with its features and settings. So, i need some help from you all guys regarding Windows 7 Media Center. Could you guys please help me to know how can i add a network drive to windows 7 Library ? Thanks for all your helps.

Re: How to Add a network drive to windows 7 Library

Library is a virtual folder that lists all files of the same gender, whatever their location on the hard drive of your computer. Inside the Image Library, you will find such images stored in your My Pictures folder, but all those recorded elsewhere in any other folder on your computer. The files are displayed in the same window, even if they are physically recorded on several different hard drive. You can easily customize it to reference the contents of folders of your choice, you can create your own libraries, add content that is on your system, customize their icons, etc..

If Windows 7 cannot add a disk or folder to another shared computer on the network in a library, the files are then indexed by the search tools of the system which can greatly slow down your computer each time you access the library. There is however a way around this limitation, just go through this:-
    • On your computer, the root of drive C: \, create a new folder called Sharing.
    • Open this folder and create a temporary folder inside Temp for example.
    • Add this file to a library and press.
    • Click OK.
    • Then delete the Temp folder in Explorer.
    • Pull down the menu Start and type cmd.
    • Click the right mouse button on the program cmd.exe and select Run as administrator .*
    • Click Yes.
    • Enter the following command with the path of network drive or folder to add to the library.