Thread: MPEG files does not work in Windows 7

MPEG files does not work in Windows 7

Hi,

I have windows 7 on my mac pc , no MPEG files are played. I get Error Message: i get this error message "Error -2048: could not open <<filename.mov>> because it is not a format that Quicktime understands.". I have the latest version of Quicktime 7.0.4. but the same problem. Can you tell me why MPEG files does not work in Windows 7 ???

Re: MPEG files does not work in Windows 7

I think you are using the old version, try to update component and maybe your problem will get solved. Enter the Apple store using the same account ID as the original purchase.Click the link to download the software history to download the new version (no charge).It could also be a 32/64 bit issue, but I have no experience in that area.

Try the follow steps to solve you problem :

1. Go to the Library -> Receipts on your main drive (not the folder).

2. Delete all files in the form QuickTime *. pkg, where "*" is a version number. For example, QuickTime600.pkg, QuickTime650.pkg, Quicktime700.pkg and QuickTime701.pkg. This simply tells the system that packages are not installed.

3. Download Quicktime and click "Download Quicktime" link. DO NOT USE THE UTILITY automatic update. Download QuickTimeInstallerX.dmg. Double click this file (probably on your desktop) and then invoke the installation by double-clicking QuickTime701.pkg.

The MPEG files might be corrupted. It also created the file yourself or someone else to create. You can rename the file to whatever you want. Did you know? that is, you can create a file to txt file.txt and change the extension to File.Move does that mean the file is played through QuickTime. Hope this helps

Remove the QuickTime completely and then again reinstall, to do this follow the steps below :

1. Close Player QuickTime Player.
    2. Click Start, click Control Panel.
    3. In the Control Panel, click Add or Remove Programs ".