Thread: The itunes library.itl file cannot be read

The itunes library.itl file cannot be read

Hi,

I have a problem with iTunes on my windows 7 pc. I have version 4.2. It has always worked very well. But yesterday I was listening to music when suddenly my laptop died due to lack of battery. Since then, impossible to route iTunes. I have an error message "The file iTunes music library can not be read: not a valid library file". I am not good at computers So, please, can you tell me clearly what I do! Thank you in advance

Re: The itunes library.itl file cannot be read

Try to rebuild your iTunes library. iTunes is supposed to do this when you upgrade, but seems not work properly at this point. You can force iTunes to rebuild the library. Apple has a technical note describes how to do this. In essence, if you delete the damaged file, iTunes will take the necessary steps to create a "new" library. You will not lose any music, but you may need to recreate some of the preferences.

Windows can not identfy a file with the extension. "ITL", but the file is called "iTunes Library" and is under your username then "Music / iTunes". Take this file and copy and paste on your desktop (if anything) and then click the folder "Previous iTunes Libraries". Locate the most recent prior to the date of installation of 8.0 and copy and paste to return to the point that it has erased the newest. iTunes should open up but probably will have to import the files.