Thread: lightweight browser for linux

lightweight browser for linux

Hi
    I have an laptop which has only 512mb of ram, it is a compact laptop. I am new to linux and I have not tried linux for many time. Now I am looking for a lightweight browser for linux so that I can replace firefox. I know firefox runs great on linux, but it is slow on my laptop, do not know what is the problem but I think I can try changing to another browser. I need a normal browser, it should be lightweight and fast, may lack some features, do not really care. Tabs would be my concern, I will need them as I open three to four pages in a browser. Are there any good lightweight browser which can really run fast and use minimum memory of my laptop.

Re: lightweight browser for linux

Hello
    I am just wondering why you are changing to a different browser if you already have Firefox installed. What makes you unhappy with Firefox? Which is the version of your Firefox? I am asking these question because I personally use Firefox 2 and i have memory of 256mb and there is nothing for me to complain for Firefox. Also one thing I would like to mention here is it will be very hard to find a lightweight browser which will support all the stuff. Means if you want a lightweight browser then you are going to loose the features and if you want the features then you can get a lightweight browser. Because these two are somewhat mutually exclusive. I do not thing that you need to change your browser. Firefox is great.

Hi