Thread: Intel 915 Chipset Windows 7 drivers

Intel 915 Chipset Windows 7 drivers

Hello,

I am New to windows 7 and I've a dell gx260. Previously i was using windows xp , but now i am unable to install Intel 915 Chipset drivers for my windows 7. Because of this i get dull graphics and and Video playback is also bad. Any one knows where i can find Intel 915 Chipset drivers for Windows 7.

Re: Intel 915 Chipset Windows 7 drivers

Intel will provide support for WDDM drivers beginning with the Intel 945 Express chipset family and beyond. See question 5 below for a detailed explanation of WDDM support on Intel 915 Express chipset-based platforms. However, Windows Vista is supported on the Intel 865G, 915G Express desktop chipsets and 852/855GM mobile chipsets running XPDM (XP Display Driver Model) driver included on the Windows Vista install media. Windows Vista will install on these platforms, but advanced features such as Windows Aero will not be enabled as XPDM drivers do not support Windows AERO.

You can use Windows vista drivers, it will also work for windows 7, But you will have to follow proper instruction or Windows 7 will not install the drivers as the generic drivers it uses by default has a newer date.
    • Go to device manager
    • Right click on your display adapter
    • Select "update driver software"
    • Select "browse my computer for driver software
    • Select "let me pick from a list
    • Select "have disk"
    • Select "browse"
    • Browse to the folder where your device drivers are located and select the inf file and install the driver.

Happy Re: Intel 915 Chipset Windows 7 drivers

Official windows 7 driver for 915 chipset is at Windows Update Catalog.
    Use this one, forget tricks and unofficial things.

Navigate with IE8 to here

and install plugin. Then type Intel Intel 915GM