Thread: Server 2003 network connectivity problem?

Server 2003 network connectivity problem?

Hi, newbie here. Sorry this is too long. But this problem has been puzzling me.

My DC is Windows Server 2003 with Exchange 2003. Lets call it Server1. Server2 is running Windows 2003 but is not a domain controller. Server2 is running Backup Exec.

The domain is in 5 floors,two separate buildings. The network engineers set us up with 3 VLANs. Server1 and Server2 are in separate VLANs.

Sometimes, when I log on to Server1 and try to remote to Server2 RDC fails. Checking for connectivity, in windows explorer, I get the following message when clicking on Server2.

\\Server2 is not accessible. You might not have permission to use this network resource...

It goes on to tell me to contact the network administrator. Unfortunately that is me.

I couldn't find anything corresponding to the problem in Event Viewer. The next step was to restart the DNS Server service. This generates the following messages:

Event ID 113
    The DNS server could not signal the service "NAT". The error was 1168...

Event Source NETLOGON
    Event ID 5781
    Dynamic registration or deletion of one or more DNS records associated with DNS domain mydomain.local.' failed. These records are used by

other computers to locate this server as a domain controller (if the specified domain is an Active Directory domain) or as an LDAP server (if the

specified domain is an application partition).

Possible causes of failure include:
    - TCP/IP properties of the network connections of this computer contain wrong IP address(es) of the preferred and alternate DNS servers
    - Specified preferred and alternate DNS servers are not running
    - DNS server(s) primary for the records to be registered is not running
    - Preferred or alternate DNS servers are configured with wrong root hints
    - Parent DNS zone contains incorrect delegation to the child zone authoritative for the DNS records that failed registration