Thread: Windows Firewall problem: Filter Query

Windows Firewall problem: Filter Query

Hi,

I have a Sony VAIO laptop running with Windows Vista which is connected to a Wireless Network. Now the problem I am facing is many times my internet stops working suddenly on this laptop. Until yesterday whenever I use to run Network Diagnose it use to say that there is no problem but internet wont works.

Today when it stopped working an I ran Network diagnose, it gave me some message saying something about the filter query policy being changed and to check my firewall setting. As I am a newbie in Networking I have no idea what is it related to but I can understand it is something about firewall issues. Hence I turned off my firewall to see if the problem disappears but nope, it still exists.

Can anyone please help me out fixing the issue? Many thanks.

Can you tell me what your system’s IP Address is? I am asking this because if your IP starts with 169, then your laptop has not gotten an IP from the DHCP server on the LAN or it would have lost it. The IP can be zero too, no IP period. Since it's not using a DHCP IP from a DHCP server on the LAN, then the machine has no connection to the Internet. However, the 169 IP will allow the machine to access other machines on the LAN, but it can't go to the Internet.

You should better check for the same by running Command Prompt and typing “IPconfig /all” command. If the 169 is there or it's zero, then you can try IPconfig /release and IPconfig /renew to see if the machine will get a valid IP from the DHCP server. If the it will not release, then you may need to do a TCP/IP Stack reset. You should do it anyway just on GP.

Re: Windows Firewall problem: Filter Query