Thread: Gear based PvP in The Secret World

Gear based PvP in The Secret World

I started playing The Secret World yesterday and I played for some hours. After playing the regular missions for some time, I thought of trying out the PvP fights available in this game. I being a beginner in this game jumped into a PvP fight where there were other people with high level of gears and powers. In my first fight itself, before even I could make any move, I was killed. This happened numerous times and left me frustrated. I wanted to know that is PvP fights gear based or level based. If it is gear based, then it might happen that I will never get to win any fight till I get myself some big guns. What do other people think about it?

Re: Gear based PvP in The Secret World

In The Secret World, the PvP fights are based on the gears. There is no restriction on players with less powerful gears not to be allowed to fight with players with higher level of gears. Anybody can fight with any other player. I know that powerful gears can do a good amount of damage to the lower level players, but since you get a good amount of control over you character in this game, you can also play it even without having powerful gear. All you need to do is to utilize the environment to your advantage. You can use the walls for taking cover or maybe use some barricade as cover. Also the terrain plays a great role. The person standing at lower height won’t be at comfort level when shooting the person at higher level. This is because person standing below won’t get proper view of player’s body that is standing at a height. But player standing on a height can get full view of player standing at lower height. So you have to build your own strategy to defeat the powerful ones.